To be able to view or edit a board, it is required to add members in Placker (or in Trello/Planner if the board is linked).
This article shows how to add a member to a board. If you want to see how to add a member to the Placker subscription, please check this article.
Add a member to a board
Manage your board members by opening the member tab in the board overview: click the board title to open the settings and add them in the members section. After that, you will be able to assign cards to those members:
You can take the following action if you are a lead of the board:
Add/invite members by e-mail address or name.
Set the member role to either lead or member
Set the member color (overwrite from default user color)
Remove a member from the board
Change the 'Trello sync' user
Please note that if your board is imported from Trello, Trello is leading in adding and removing members. You can then only set the member role if you are a lead.
Remove a member from a board
See the screen recording below how to block a member accessing from the board (they might still have access in other boards in the subscription) using the delete button.
Access levels in Placker
What is the difference between the role types?
There are five different role types in Placker, here are the differences:
Lead: Can delete and add members
Member: Can update/create cards
View only: Can view and be assigned to cards
Assign only: Can view and edit assigned members
Observer: Can only view cards
What is the difference between members and observers/passive users?
If you wish to give someone read-only access that is also assigned to cards on the board, you should assign the 'view only' role to this user. For example, a client that is assigned to some cards on the board but should not update anything.
If you wish to give someone read-only access that is not assigned to the cards, you should assign the 'observer' role to this user. For example, a stakeholder that likes to see the card status in a dashboard but should not update anything.
How are members managed when the board is linked to Trello?
When the board is linked to Trello, you need to add active members through Trello. When members are added through Placker only, they will get the 'Passive' role. This means that they can see the content but can't be assigned to cards.